NSI Gold Approved – What does it mean?

At Tyneside Security, we’re very proud of our NSI Gold Approved status, and for good reason! So, here’s a run down of what NSI is, how it works and what it means to you.

Before NSI, the main approval council for security companies was NACOSS (National Approval Council for Security Systems).In 2001, NACOSS was merged with ISI (Inspectorate of the Security Industry), creating a new combined organisation that we know today as NSI (National Security Incorporate).

NSI’s mission is to raise standards in the security and fire industries in the interests of the customer. NSI, and Tyneside Security alike, believe that everyone, whether a large organisation, small business or householder, is entitled to receive a professional service from security and fire companies.

The long-term undermining of standards by poor performers is a threat to every customer, and so it is NSI’s motivation to separate the strong from the weak.

Operating on a 2 tier approach to approval, NSI allows companies to grow and develop their business whilst consistently developing reassurance to their customers.

Silver medal

Silver is designed for ‘Product Certification’, and refers to the ‘Product Certification’ against sector specific standards, e.g. BS7858, BS8243.

Gold medal picGold builds on Product Certification to incorporate Quality Management System Certification. The combination of the Quality Management Systems and the relevant sector specific product or service represents the Gold standard of certification.  This level holds the greatest perceived value across industry and by the police, fire and                  rescue services and insurers.

A Management System is defined as:

‘A proven framework for managing and continually improving an organisation’s policies, procedures and processes’

Management certifications are a family of internationally recognised standards designed to ensure that organisations meet the needs of their customers and other stakeholders.
Management Systems applications include:

  • Quality – BS EN ISO 9001
  • Environmental – BS EN ISO 14001
  • Health & Safety – BS OHSAS 18001

Because NACOSS is a regulatory body and not a trade association it is not possible to ‘join’ NACOSS by simply paying a fee and agreeing to abide by certain rules. NACOSS is independent, and works to ensure that security systems are of the highest quality and reliability. NACOSS insists that systems installed by recognised firms comply with all relevant British Standards, such as BS 4737 for intruder alarms, and with the industry’s own Codes of Practice.

To achieve recognition a firm must prove its technical ability to install and maintain equipment to relevant British Standards and NACOSS Codes of Practice. The suitability of the company’s premises, vehicles, insurance, training, procedures and protocols on customer service are all assessed. The award of a NACOSS certificate of Quality Assurance demonstrates all of the relevant criteria have been satisfied. NACOSS also ensures that high standards are maintained by visiting each NACOSS firm on a regular basis.

Insurance companies have been very impressed with the way that this has raised standards, and usually offer savings on insurance for homes with systems fitted by NSI approved companies. Money Saving Expert, Martin Lewis, says that on average customers will save around 7.5% on their premium.

NSI approved companies must prove their competency on an on-going basis, and are undoubtedly the best.

For more information on NSI visit their website:  http://www.nsi.org.uk/

Tyneside security supply, fit and maintain CCTV systems in North Tyneside, as well as intruder alarms (burglar alarms), and fire alarms. The first step is to organise a survey with one of our security experts who will determine your exact requirements and create a bespoke security package. The alarm will then be fitted by one of our experienced and highly reliable engineers who will then look after your CCTV system for years to come.

Tyneside Security operates right across the North East of England including Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Gateshead, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Northumberland.